RU

Arctic Development and Management Project: A Sub-program of World Ocean Federal Target-oriented Program

  • 1/3
  • 2/3
  • 3/3

The state-owned Russian Space Communications Company (RSCC) have started construction and integration of a telecommunication infrastructure at Spitsbergen Island under the Arctic Development and Management Project, a sub-program of the World Ocean Federal Target-oriented Program. The project is ordered, on behalf of the Russian Government, by the Federal Agency of Communications (Rossvyaz).


The future infrastructure shall provide all pre-conditions as may be required for business activities of the Russian companies and institutions based on the archipelago (Arktikugol and the Arctic and Antarctic Research and Development Institute) and shall also offer state-of-the-art telecommunication services to the community of the Russian settlement of Barentsburg.

The tasks defined by the project include

  • Build a next-generation network (NGN) supporting transport of multimedia services via 200 points of presence (the Internet, TV/audio casting and voice communications);
  • Expand the existing GSM-900 mobile communications segment (upgarde and construct three base stations) with a 1000-subscriber capacity; and
  • Set up a satellite communications segment.

The Russian users at Spitsbergen shall be provided with access to the most advanced service package including digital TV, mobile communications, and a high bit rate Internet connectivity.

The speicific geographic location and the intricate climatic conditions impose stringent constraints on the Spitsbergen infrastructure development project – any construction and integration activities are limited to the July–August period.  All required hardware and materials were delivered to Barentsburg from the port of Murmansk by the Pavel Korchagin special-purpose ship on 31 May 2011.  As of today, all operations have entered an active phase to be run in parallel for the next two months by several subcontractors supervised by RSCC.

EN

Проект «Освоение и использование Арктики» ФЦП «Мировой океан»

  • 1/3
  • 2/3
  • 3/3

ФГУП «Космическая связь» (ГПКС) приступило к  строительно-монтажным работам по созданию инфраструктуры связи на архипелаге Шпицберген  в рамках подпрограммы  «Освоение и использование Арктики» Федеральной целевой программы «Мировой океан».


ФГУП «Космическая связь» (ГПКС) приступило к  строительно-монтажным работам по созданию инфраструктуры связи на архипелаге Шпицберген  в рамках подпрограммы  «Освоение и использование Арктики» Федеральной целевой программы «Мировой океан».  Государственным заказчиком проекта выступает Федеральное агентство связи (Россвязь).
Создаваемая инфраструктура обеспечит необходимые условия для хозяйственной деятельности предприятий и учреждений Российской Федерации на архипелаге (ФГУП «ГТ Арктикуголь», ГУ «Арктический и антарктический НИИ»),  а также позволит предоставить современные  услуги связи населению российского посёлка Баренцбург.
          
В рамках проекта предстоит решить следующие задачи:
  • создание мультисервисной сети,  обеспечивающей передачу мультимедийных услуг, с организацией 200 точек доступа (интернет, телерадиовещание, телефония);
  • расширение сегмента сотовой связи стандарта GSM-900  (реконструкция и строительство 3-х базовых станций) с возможностью организации мобильной связи до 1000 абонентов;
  • строительство сегмента спутниковой связи.
Российские пользователи на Шпицбергене получат доступ к самому современному набору услуг цифрового телевидения, подвижной связи и широкополосного доступа к сети Интернет.
Особенности географического положения и сложные климатические условия накладывают серьезные ограничения на проект развития инфраструктуры Шпицбергена: строительно-монтажные работы могут проводиться только в июле-августе. Необходимое оборудование и материалы прибыли в Баренцбург 31 мая 2011 года на специальном судне «Павел Корчагин»  из Мурманска.  В настоящее время работы вступили в активную фазу и в ближайшие два месяца они  будут проводиться одновременно несколькими подрядными организациями под контролем специалистов ГПКС.