RU

Project to Provide Digital Movie Delivery via Satellite Lines to Theaters in Russia and CIS

The Russian Space Communications Company together with CineLab Data Delivery, a CineLab Group Company announced the launch of a project envisaging the delivery of digital movies via satellite lines to cinema theaters across Russia and the CIS countries (except for the remote Far East areas).

RSCC has offered a comprehensive solution that includes all hardware required for accessing the Internet, content generation, and uplinking this content from the RSCC Dubna Satellite Communication Facility to the Express AM2 satellite stationed at 80 degrees E. CineLab Data Delivery support reception of digital cinema directly by theaters. The data bit rate may be as high as 45 Mbit/sec in this process.

Cinema theaters have been digitized at a rather fast pace in Russia. As of December 1, 2011, about 660 theaters (1332 view rooms) have been equipped with digital projectors according to DIGITAL CINEMA.RU. The trend is apparent of a growth in number of digital copies compared to 35-mm ones. The use of satellite communication lines reduces, to the lowest possible levels, the risks of delivering data and/or content to the cinema theaters network on hard media.

CineLab is one of the first companies who began developing the digital cinema business in Russia: for more than three years they have been offering services such as DCP mastering, fabrication of digital copies, key generation (KDM) and delivery of digital copies to theaters on hard media. The satellite-based delivery system is designed to significantly simplify delivery of digital movies especially when it comes to remote regional theaters in Russia and the CIS. The building of this project around satellite lines is the optimal solution since any attempt to develop a ground communications line runs into problems resulting from the enormous area of this country. As of the start of 2012, the CineLab reception network having no analog in Russia includes as many as 160 stations. The present plan is to install receive stations in all digital cinema theaters in Russia before the end of 2012.

EN

Проект доставки цифрового кино через спутниковые каналы в кинотеатры России и СНГ

ФГУП «Космическая связь» и компания «СинеЛаб Дата Деливери» (входит в группу компаний «СинеЛаб») объявляют о запуске проекта доставки цифрового кино в кинотеатры на всей территории России и СНГ (за исключением удаленных регионов Дальнего Востока) через спутниковые каналы связи. 

ФГУП «Космическая связь» и компания «СинеЛаб Дата Деливери» (входит в группу компаний «СинеЛаб») объявляют о запуске проекта доставки цифрового кино в кинотеатры на всей территории России и СНГ (за исключением удаленных регионов Дальнего Востока) через спутниковые каналы связи. ГПКС предоставило комплексное решение, которое включает необходимые технические средства для доступа в Интернет, подготовки контента и его подъема из Центра космической связи «Дубна» ГПКС на спутник «Экспресс-АМ2» (80 градусов в.д.). Компания «СинеЛаб Дата Деливери» обеспечивает прием цифрового кино непосредственно в кинотеатрах. При этом скорость информационного потока достигает 45 Mbit/s.

«Цифровизация» кинотеатров в России идет достаточно быстрыми темпами: по данным DIGITAL CINEMA.RU, к 01 декабря 2011 года около 660 кинотеатров (1332 зала) оснащены цифровыми проекторами. При этом прослеживается тенденция роста числа цифровых копий по сравнению с копиями на 35-миллиметровой пленке. Использование спутниковых каналов связи позволяет максимально снизить риски, создаваемые физическими носителями при доставке данных и контента в сети кинотеатров.

Компания «СинеЛаб» одна из первых в России начала развивать направление цифрового кино и  уже более 3-х лет предоставляет  такие услуги, как:  мастеринг DCP, производство цифровых копий, генерация ключей (KDM), доставка цифровых копий на физических носителях в кинотеатры. Система доставки через спутниковый канал связи призвана существенно упростить доставку цифровых фильмов, особенно в отдаленные региональные кинотеатры России и СНГ. В связи со сложностями развития наземных каналов связи, обусловленными огромной территорией нашей страны, использование спутника для данного проекта является наиболее оптимальным решением. Приемная сеть, развернутая компанией «СинеЛаб», не имеет аналогов в России и к началу 2012 году включает в себя 160 станций. До конца 2012 года планируется установить приемные станции во всех цифровых кинотеатрах России.